Photo of National Aviation Hall of Fame Chairman Bill Harris and Dayton History President Brady Kress signing an operating agreement while others watch.
NAHF Chairman, Bill Harris (left) and Dayton History President & CEO, Brady Kress sign the operating agreement with NAHF trustees Betty Darst, Vince Russo and Wolfgang Dalichau.

Dayton History to operate Hall of Fame center

In Dayton History, NAHA Alliances, NAHA News, National Aviation Hall of Fame, National Museum of the United States Air Force /

Dayton, Ohio—The National Aviation Hall of Fame on Monday, Dec. 8, announced an agreement to turn over daily operations of its Learning Center to Dayton History beginning January 1, 2015.

Located at the National Museum of the U.S. Air Force, the 14,500-square-foot learning center features displays, flight simulators and interactive exhibits that honor its enshrinees.

The agreement includes Dayton History’s integration of Hall of Fame volunteers into its volunteer association, provides a full-time education department staff member and enhances the historical interpretation and education programming within the learning center.

The Hall of Fame’s annual programs, including its enshrinement selection process and ceremonies, public events at the Reno Air Races, Oshkosh, and the NBAA convention, and other educational programs, will remain under the direction of its board of trustees.

“This stellar example of creative collaboration between two vibrant non-profits is a multiple win, raising the bar for the Hall of Fame, Dayton History, the aviation legends we honor, and our entire community,” Hall of Fame Chairman William R. Harris said in a prepared announcement.

Harris pointed out that with free admission and parking, the Hall of Fame benefits from being located at the National Museum, which attracts over one million visitors per year. “We are delighted to build on that with Dayton History’s help, and to further expand the Hall of Fame’s ability to inspire future leaders,” he said.

U.S. Rep. Mike Turner was among officials announcing the partnership at a morning press event in the Learning Center. “I was honored to join my good friend, Zoe Dell Nutter, to help facilitate this beneficial partnership between Dayton History and the NAHF,” Turner said.

Dayton History is Montgomery County’s official historical organization. The organization boasts multiple campuses in the greater Dayton, Ohio area: Carillon Historical Park, Hawthorn Hill, the Paul Laurence Dunbar House Historic Site, the Patterson Homestead, the Old Court House, Memorial Hall and the Archive Center. Visit to learn more.

The National Aviation Hall of Fame is a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization founded in Dayton in 1962 and chartered by the U.S. Congress in 1964. Since 1962, the National Aviation Hall of Fame has inducted more than 200 of the nation’s premier air and space pioneers, including the Wrights, Amelia Earhart, Charles Lindbergh, John Glenn and Neil Armstrong. Visit to learn more.

Dayton History, the Hall of Fame and the National Museum also collaborate as parters of the National Aviation Heritage Alliance.